Thursday, November 30, 2023
HomePhysicsSamuel Ting awarded Bhabha Award for AMS work » MIT Physics

Samuel Ting awarded Bhabha Award for AMS work » MIT Physics

At its 2023 Astroparticle Physics Convention in Nagoya, Japan, the Worldwide Union of Pure and Utilized Physics (IUPAP) introduced that this 12 months’s recipient of the Bhabha Award is Institute Professor, Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of Physics and researcher within the Laboratory for Nuclear Science Samuel C.C. Ting for “his imaginative and prescient and management of the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) experiment on the Worldwide Area Station, which has offered knowledge of unprecedented precision on the spectrum & composition of Galactic cosmic rays that problem standard fashions of their origin.”

The Bhabha Award is offered to a scientist who has made distinguished contributions within the subject of excessive vitality cosmic ray physics and astro-particle physics over an prolonged tutorial profession.  Professor Ting, winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1976, is the chief of the AMS experiment.  Proposed and developed by Ting, AMS is a singular precision magnetic spectrometer in area.  Since its launch in Could 2011, AMS has furthered our understanding of the cosmos by performing precision measurements of cosmic rays’ composition and flux, and trying to find antimatter and the origin of darkish matter.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments